A Post about Minimalism

So for post numero dos I thought I would discuss a subject that has been on my mind a lot lately: Minimalism. Now before you start rolling your eyes because you think I have just jumped on the bandwagon after watching one documentary on Netflix, just hear me out.

Yes, I heard from various sources (facebook friends) about this amazing documentary on Netflix called The Minimalists. Well, I’m on a break from work and I have approximately the time frame of a toddler’s nap to get this watched, so lets do it! What’s the hype all about? Let’s just say, I have bought in hook, line, and sinker. I feel like I have found a piece of my identity that I didn’t even know was missing. I am meant to be a Minimalist!

So what exactly is a Minimalist? What is Minimalism? Basically how I would define it, it’s a decluttering of all the stuff in your life that is holding you back from true happiness and peace. Whether it’s the physical stuff that accumulates in your house, or whether it’s the negative habits or thought patterns. Get rid of it! Free yourself up for more time, money, space, positivity, etc. At the risk of having to pay royalties to Frozen, “Let it go, let it goooo”! Purge!

Now I have never really been the type of person that becomes attached to things and has to have all the stuff. I don’t care about owning the latest and greatest gadgets, but like most people, I have still managed to accumulate a lot of crap that just sits around in piles and closets and just does not get used. It drives me crazy on so many levels. It’s not just about getting rid of the clutter of my house though, what I really want is to get rid of the clutter in my mind. I want to let go of negative habits, of relationships that don’t serve me anymore, of sabotaging thoughts. I want to take this Minimalist thing to the next level,  but first, I do want a clean house. I feel like once I get the physical cleared away, it will help with the spiritual, emotional, and mental clutter that is keeping me from being truly happy and satisfied.

Minimalism isn’t about giving up everything and living like a monk, but it’s about letting go of what does not serve you anymore. This is something I truly need to work on, therefore this will be my focus in 2017. PURGE!

Leave a Reply

